Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship

Thank you for your interest in the Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program at Cooper University Hospital. Our program is three years in length and accepts five fellows per year. The cardiovascular disease fellowship functions as an integral component of the internal medicine residency program and both programs are currently accredited for the maximum ACGME cycle lengths. The cardiology division has active programs in interventional cardiology and electrophysiology, and fourth-year fellowship positions are available in these subspecialties.

The Division of Cardiology is a component of the Department of Medicine. The Department of Medicine at Cooper University Hospital (CUH) comprises 11 divisions and employs 193 full-time faculty members committed to delivering the finest care to patients as well as to providing the best education for our next generation of physicians.

The cardiovascular disease fellowship is designed to provide excellent clinical training in an academic environment. The program consists of three years of broad-based training in clinical cardiology with ample opportunities to participate in clinical and basic research. First- and second-year rotations consist of the coronary care unit and consultation services, cardiac catheterization, electrophysiology, electrocardiography, echocardiography and nuclear cardiology. The third year typically consists of a more focused experience in either noninvasive or invasive cardiology. Fellows participate in regular continuity clinic sessions, following their own panel of patients throughout the three years of training. Research also is emphasized.

The cardiovascular disease program has an active conference schedule with at least one clinical or didactic conference daily. In addition to a core curriculum, attention is paid to basic science and research. The strength of the Cooper program is teaching, and emphasis is placed on education and the promotion of collegial relationships between faculty and fellows. Cardiology faculty hold academic appointments at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University (CMSRU) and are actively involved in medical student education programs at the medical school. There is a high faculty-to-fellow ratio with 27 employed cardiologists involved in the education of 15 cardiology fellows. The program offers access to faculty with expertise in cardiac surgery, radiation safety, cardiothoracic surgery, pharmacology, congenital heart disease, intensive care and basic cardiac research.

Zoltan G Turi, MD

Zoltan G. Turi, MD
Program Director,
Cardiology Fellowship Program
Cooper University Hospital
Professor of Medicine,
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University

Perry J. Weinstock, M.D.

Perry J. Weinstock, MD
Head, Division of Cardiovascular Disease
Cooper University Hospital
Associate Professor of Medicine,
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University