Medical Physics Residency

In 2013, Cooper University Health Care partnered with The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston Texas – one of the nation’s leading cancer hospitals – to create MD Anderson Cancer Center at Cooper. Through this partnership, MD Anderson at Cooper physicians and staff adhere to the philosophy, processes, and guidelines set by MD Anderson in Houston, Texas, and patients receive the same proven treatment plans provided at MD Anderson.

The Medical Physics Residency is modeled after The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center's program and has four main components:

  1. Rotations by disease site (e.g., breast, thoracic, head and neck, etc.) in which residents follow patients through the entire radiation therapy process.
  2. Didactics, including journal club and weekly topical readings, discussion, and presentations.
  3. Machine-based training, in which residents will receive long-term, in-depth experience with the whole range of equipment in our department.
  4. Projects, in which residents will be continually involved in opportunities to improve the clinic and expand its capabilities.

The Department of Radiation Oncology operates at facilities in Camden, Voorhees, and Mount Laurel. Residents work at all three locations. There are eight medical physicists on staff. The department is equipped with both Elekta and Varian TrueBeam linear accelerators with cone-beam and surface imaging and active HDR brachytherapy, Gamma Knife, and CyberKnife programs.

The Medical Physics Residency at Cooper is a two year program with a July 1 start date. The program is CAMPEP-accredited. We plan to admit one new resident each year.