How to Apply

Cooper University Health Care’s mission is: To Serve. To Heal. To Educate. Cooper’s mission does not contemplate nor allow for discrimination or inequality in its practice. Our GME Diversity Council supports, fosters, and promotes an environment where all members of its academic community may thrive and succeed, regardless of race, creed, ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity, or age.

The Internal Medicine Residency at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University/Cooper University Hospital Program participates in the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS), and all information is processed through this system without exception. Information regarding the ERAS application process and timeline is available on the website below. All positions will be offered through NRMP; participation with National Residency Matching Program required.

Interviews are by invitation only and are scheduled from October through January

Association of American Medical Colleges

ERAS applications must contain the following information in order for your application to be considered:

  • Common application form
  • Three original letters of recommendation
  • Dean’s letter (MSPE)
  • Medical school transcript
  • USMLE / COMLEX Scores (Parts 1 and 2, Passing CS when available)
  • Personal statement describing your training goals and future career plans

Program Eligibility

Applicants must be U.S. citizens, be classified as resident aliens, or hold a J-1 Visa.

Deadline for submission of complete application in ERAS is November 15.

All applications are screened by the Selection Committee.

Interviews are by invitation only. Our minimum USMLE score requirement is 220 or higher on both Steps I and II on the first attempt, and a passing CSA on first attempt. NO paper applications accepted.

Six months of U.S. clinical experience is desired. Recent medical school graduates (within the past five years) are preferred as well.

Additional Contact Information

Program Director
Rachel Nash, MD

Program Director, Primary Care
Jenny Melli, MD

Associate Program Directors/Core Faculty 
Elizabeth Cerceo, MD, FACP
Alexandra Lane, MD
Jenny Melli, MD
Charlotte Nussbaum, MD
Ritesh Patel, MD

Additional Core Faculty 
Jinyu (Byron) Lu, MD - Director of Patient Safety
Satyajeet Roy, MD - Director of Resident Research 

Assistant Program Director of Primary Care
Director of Resident Clinic

Alexandra Lane, MD

Designated Institution Official
Antoinette Spevetz, MD, FCCM, FACP

Chairman of Department of Medicine 
Stephen W. Trzeciak, MD, MPH

Residency Program Coordinators
Laura Chropka  and Terry Mortka
856.342.2000 x 1009640 or 1009646

Student Education Coordinator
Betty Ann Girouard