Pain Medicine Fellowship

Thank you for your interest in the Pain Medicine Fellowship Program at Cooper University Health Care. Our program is one year in length and accepts one fellow per year. The pain medicine fellowship functions as a multidisciplinary program and is currently accredited for the maximum ACGME cycle length.

The Division of Pain Management is a component of the Department of Anesthesiology. The Department of Anesthesiology at Cooper University Health Care employs 30 full-time anesthesiologists committed to delivering the finest care to patients as well as to providing the best education for our next generation of physicians.

The Pain Medicine Fellowship is designed to provide excellent clinical training in an academic environment. The program consists of a multidisciplinary year exposing the fellow to all aspects of pain medicine with ample opportunities to participate in clinical and basic research. Throughout the year the fellow will rotate through: anesthesiology, palliative care, physiatry, psychiatry, neurology, radiology, neurosurgery, and interventional pain medicine rotations. Research also is emphasized.

Dr. Sabia with a machineThe Pain Medicine Fellowship has an active conference schedule with at least one clinical or didactic conference weekly. In addition to a core curriculum, attention is paid to basic science and research. The strength of the Cooper program is teaching, and emphasis is placed on education and the promotion of collegial relationships between faculty and fellows. Pain Medicine faculty hold academic appointments at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University (CMSRU) and are actively involved in medical student education programs at the medical school. There is a high faculty to fellow ratio with five employed pain medicine attendings involved in the education of one pain fellow.

We invite you to take the time to explore our program.

Kingsuk Ganguly, MD

Kingsuk Ganguly, MD

Program Director, Pain Medicine Fellowship Program 

Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Cooper Medical School of Rowan University